Chief Fuesting was born and raised in Effingham and started his career in February 1994 as a patrol officer with the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department, District 8. In October 1997, he joined the St. Louis County Police Department and was assigned to the Affton Precinct. While in the Affton Precinct he served as a Field Training Officer and as the Precinct Gang Officer. In April 2001, he was reassigned to the Bureau of Special Operations, Community Action Team.

In December 2004, he was promoted to the rank of Sergeant and assigned to the North County Precinct as a patrol supervisor.  In January 2008, he was assigned to the Division of Criminal Investigations, Bureau of Crimes Against Persons as a unit supervisor.  In September 2009, he was reassigned to supervise the department’s newly created Neighborhood Enforcement Team.  As the unit supervisor, the unit focuses on gang and violent crime patterns within the North County Precinct. 

In May 2010, he was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant and assigned to the North County Precinct.  In September 2010, he was assigned to the City of Jennings as the Detail Commander overseeing daily operations. 

In April 2015, he was promoted to the rank of Captain and assumed command of the newly created City of Jennings Precinct. 

In March 2016, he assumed command of the Affton Southwest Precinct as the Precinct Commander.  
After a successful career in the St. Louis Metropolitan area, Chief Fuesting returned home to assume the helm as the Chief of Police for Effingham.
Chief Fuesting holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice from Columbia College.  He is a graduate of Northwestern University School of Police Staff and Command, Class #357 and the Police Executive Research Forum  - Senior Management Institute for Police, Class #70. 

He is a member of International Association of Chief of Police, FBI Law Enforcement Executive Development Association, Illinois Chiefs of Police Association, board member to the Effingham County Emergency 911 Board and a member of Sunrise Rotary.